2. Frequently asked questions about sharing items in the ePortfolio
- Can the recipient of shared items share those items with others?
- How do I know that I have received a shared document?
- Does a tag stay attached to an item when the item is pushed?
- Where can I see to whom I have pushed items?
- How can I see from which student I have received a shared item?
- Can a program coordinator also see items from a student that have been shared with another teacher?
- Can I save an item that has been shared with me?
- Is a reflection that is attached to an item also shared if the item is shared?
Can the recipient of shared items share those items with others?
No, a shared item can not be shared by the recipient with a third party.
How do I know that I have received a shared document?
You will receive a shared document in the Explore tab in your ePortfolio.
If a student has sent an invite after sharing a document, the recipient will receive an email in his RU mailbox. In addition, a message is displayed on the ePortfolio tab that a new invite has been received.
There are notification icons at the top of the Brightspace mini bar. These icons are not used by the ePortfolio. Notifications of received ePortfolio items or invites thus will not appear here.
Does a tag stay attached to an item when the item is pushed?
Yes, a tag remains attached to the item when it is pushed to another portfolio.
Note: a taglist (attached to a collection) will not be pushed with the item.
Where can I see to whom I have pushed items?
- Click on the My Items tab.
- Click on More Actions.
- 3. Select Go to Import / Export page.
Select the Pushes to Others tab to see to who you have pushed.
It does not show which item you have pushed.
How can I see from which student I have received a shared item?
The Explore tab in the ePortfolio shows all documents shared with you. Behind each document is the name of the person who shared it with you.
Click on the name of the student to filter the list of displayed items on the name of the student.
Can a program coordinator also see items from a student that have been shared with another teacher?
Not without permission from the student. If a program coordinator wants insight into the items of a portfolio, the owner of the portfolio must also share these items with the coordinator.
Can I save an item that has been shared with me?
No. A student can always 'unshare' a shared item, even if someone has left a comment on the itemt. If you want a document from a student to remain accessible, let them submit it via a course assignment.
Is an reflection that is attached to a item also shared if the item is shared?
No, a reflection attached to another item is not included when you share the item. An item and an attached reflection are two separate items after sharing.