How do I manage the participants in my meeting? | Zoom

You can organise meetings of up to 300 people with an additional RU license. You can manage your participants to make sure the meeting is orderly and runs smoothly.

Manage participants

  1. Click Participants to get an overview of the participants on the right side of the screen.
  2. Click Invite to invite more participants. Read the manual How do I start and plan a session? for more information about inviting participants.
  3. Click Mute All to mute the audio of all participants. You can then choose whether participants are allowed to turn on their own audio. The other option is that only the host is able to turn the audio on.
  4. The following options can be found below the three dots icon:
    • Mute Participants Upon Entry: New participants will enter the meeting with their microphone turned off.
    • Allow Participants to Unmute Themselves: Give participants permission to turn their own microphone on.
    • Allow Participants to Rename Themselves: Give participants permission to change their own screen name.
    • Play Sound when someone joins or leaves:  Zoom will play a sound every time a participant enters or leaves.
    • Enable Waiting Room:  New participants will be put in the waiting room before they can join the meeting.
    • Lock Meeting: Make the meeting private; no new participants will be able to join.

If you want to present or are talking for a long time, it can be useful to mute all participants with Mute All. Microphones that are turned on can cause disturbances. When you use a meeting for a discussion and interaction it is advised to let students control their own audio.

Remove or alter participants

There are two ways to make changes for your participants. One option is as described above: go to Participants, and then click More behind the participant's name.

  • Chat: Send a private message to the participant.
  • Ask to Start Video:  Ask the participant to turn on their camera in case it is turned off.
  • Make Host: Change the role of the participant to Host.
  • Make Co-Host: Change the role of the participant to Co-Host.
  • Rename: Change the participant's name.
  • Put in Waiting Room: Put the participant in the waiting room. This means they cannot view or follow the meeting.
  • Remove: Remove the participant from the meeting.
  • Report: Report the participant to Zoom, for example for innapropriate screen sharing or joining as uninvited participant.

It is also possible to manage participants by clicking on the three dots at the top right of the participant's screen.

  • Ask to Start Video:  Ask the participant to turn on their camera in case it is turned off.
  • Chat: Send a private message to the participant.
  • Rename: Change the participant's name.
  • Make Host: Change the role of the participant to Host.
  • Make Co-Host: Change the role of the participant to Co-Host.
  • Remove: Remove the participant from the meeting.
  • Report: Report the participant to Zoom, for example for innapropriate screen sharing or joining as uninvited participant.
  • Put in Waiting Room: Put the participant in the waiting room. This means they cannot view or follow the meeting.
  • Hide Non-Video Participants: if participants have chosen to turn off their camera you can choose to hide them from the Gallery View.

Put participants in the waiting room

If you create a waiting room, you will be able to maintain more overview and control; you choose who enters the session. You can either let participants enter one by one, and you can also put participants back into the waiting room during the meeting.

Below Participants you will see an overview of participants in the waiting room.

  1. Click Message to open the chat and send a message to the participants. For example: "A little more patience please, I will let you in shortly.
  2. Click Admit all to admit everyone in the waiting room at once.
  3. Click Admit behind the waiting participant to let them in individually.
  4. Click Remove to remove participants from the meeting. They can then no longer participate.
  5. Use the chat to send a message to all participants in the waiting room.

Only participants in the waiting room who use the desktop version will receive the chat messages. Participants who join via browser will not.

Desktop client waiting room

Browser meeting room