Docent - TeacherGuides and instructionsBrightspace Administration: GroupsHow do I remove groups? Administration | Groups

How do I remove groups? Administration | Groups

Remove a Category

  • Go to Administration in the navbar of your course.
  • Click Groups. You will now see the Manage Groups page.
  1. Select the category you want to delete in the drop-down menu.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the category.
  3. Click Delete. A pop-up window will appear.
  • Click Delete Groups/Categories. You will now remove the category and all the groups it contains.

Removing a category will influence certain parts to which it is linked:

  1. Discussions: only the discussion forum will remain visible. All topics including their content will be removed. The forum will only remain visible to teachers. Students are not able to see the forum because it does not contain any topics. You can use this forum again by adding new topics.
  2. Lockers: the lockers and their content will be removed for both teachers and students. This content is permanently deleted!
  3. Assignment: Assignments submission folders created through the New Category menu will be removed when the linked group category is removed. All submitted materials will be removed and cannot be restored! Links in Content to assignments that were removed in this process will now appear as broken.
  4. Subcategory: all the groups in the category will be removed.
  5. Release Condition: if there is a file in Content that has the category as a release condition then this file will become available to everybody when the category is removed.

Remove a subgroup

  • Go Administration in the navbar of your course.
  • Click Groups. You will now see the Manage Groups page.
  1. Select the subcategory you want to delete in the drop-down menu.
  2. Click the checkbox next to the category.
  3. Click Delete. A pop-up window will appear.
  • Click Delete Groups/Categories. You will now remove the category and all the groups it contains.

If you remove a group with the enrollment type Auto Enrollment, the participants of this group will be automatically transferred to a new group.

Removing a category will influence certain parts to which it is linked:

  1. Discussions: the teacher will still be able to see the discussion forum, but the student who was in the deleted group will not. All topics of the group including their content will be deleted.
  2. Lockers: the lockers and their content will be removed for both teachers and students. 
  3. Assignment: the handed in assignments are no longer visible for students or teacher. However, the teacher is still able to see how many assignments were handed in.
  4. Release Condition: if there is a topic in Content that has the category as a release condition then this topic will become available to everybody when the category is removed.